What is the full form of SFURTI?

SFURTI stands for Scheme of Funds for Regeneration of Traditional Industries.

Who has ownership of the cluster after it has been handed over?

The ownership of the cluster rest with an institution which is called a Special Purpose Vehicle, established by the Implementing Agency of the cluster.

What role do private companies have under the SFURTI Scheme?

Private enterprises can take up any role by becoming a Nodal Agency, Technical Agency or Implementing Agency.

The scheme also encourages private enterprises to finance and aid clusters instead of shareholding in the SPV of a cluster.

Also Read: All About SFURTI Scheme: Objective, Eligibility, Process, Benefits and More

What is the maximum amount of grant approved by SSC for an SFURTI Cluster?

The Government funds a maximum of Rs. 5 Crore for a single cluster.

When was SFURTI Scheme launched?

The Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprise (MSME) of the Government of India launched the Scheme in the year 2005.

What is a Nodal Agency in the SFURTI Scheme?

A Nodal Agency is a national-level institution having sectoral experience in cluster development in the traditional industry sector.

A Nodal Agency has the authority to oversee the implementation of the scheme in the cluster development program.

Also Read: How Funding of a SFURTI Cluster Works?

What is a Technical Agency in the SFURTI Scheme?

A Technical Agency is a national-level institution having expertise in enterprise cluster development programs. The technical agency provides technical assistance in the preparation of DPR, business plans and Cluster Action Plans.

They also assist in providing support to NA and IA via ‘hand-holding’ for the implementation of the cluster.

What is an Implementing Agency in the SFURTI Scheme?

An IA is an agency that has operational control over the implementation of a cluster. An Implementing Agency can be a Non-Government Organization (NGO), an institution established by the Central or State Government, a field functionary of State or Central Government, or a Panchayati Raj Institute that has expertise in cluster development.

Private enterprises are also allowed to become an Implementation Agency.

An IA is responsible for identifying a cluster of artisans and holds the baton for establishing it along with the NA and TA.

The task of IA is to establish and identify clusters of traditional industries and to provide intervention as per the scheme.

They also appoint a Cluster Development Executive and establish a Special Purpose Vehicle for the same.

Also Read: Cluster Sustainability and Exist Strategy under SFURTI

What are the types of Interventions provided in the SFURTI scheme?

SFURTI scheme provides three types of intervention, which are based upon the nature and financial requirements of the cluster.

  • Soft Intervention: Which includes General awareness, counselling, motivation, skill development, workshops, marketing support, product development and seminars.
  • Hard Interventions: The interventions include providing facilities for developing ideas for multiple products, introducing packaging, developing common facility centres (CFCs), Raw material banks (RMBs), Tool and technological up-gradation and tool-kit distribution etc. for a cluster.
  • Thematic Interventions: Thematic Intervention is proposed in addition to Hard and Soft Interventions. This exercise is done to broaden the reach and market of functional clusters. This may entail branding, promotion and establishing a new market. Also, If a cluster wants to collaborate with the other clusters within the same sector, then the collaboration can feature their products in domestic and international markets.

What is a CFC in an SFURTI scheme?

The full form of CFC is Common Facility Centre. A CFC is a facility where products are tested, raw material for the product is kept and the final product is prepared before it is sold in the market.

What are the Aims and Objectives of the SFURTI scheme?

The aim and objective of the SFURTI scheme are to organize clusters for traditional industries, artisans and crafts and to develop a financially sustainable model for them.

Why was the SFURTI scheme started?

SFURTI scheme was started with the intention to uplift the artisans working in the traditional industry and to provide them with the expertise to survive in the competitive market.

Also Read: Everything you need to know about Institution Building in SFURTI

Which Ministry of Government has control over the SFURTI scheme?

The Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprise (MSME) has control over the framing of guidelines under the SFURTI scheme.

What is Scheme Steering Committee?

A Scheme Steering Committee (SSC) is a body which considers the proposal of clusters by the Implementing Agency and Nodal Agency. The Committee after its analysis grants approval for the setting up of a cluster.

The SSC is coordinated by the Ministry of MSME.

Currently how many SFURTI clusters are in operation?

There are about 261 clusters functioning all over India as per the Ministry of MSME’s official website.

How to become an Implementing Agency under SFURTI?

To become an Implementing Agency you must be a Non-Government Organization (NGO) or either an institution of Central, Government or Semi-Government or field functionaries of State and Central Government or a Panchayati Raj institute etc. who have expertise in cluster development projects.

However, to be officially declared as an IA, the agency should bring a proposal of a cluster before the Scheme Steering Committee.

What are the types of Traditional Industries under SFURTI?

A traditional industry can include art and craft products which are Khadi and Coir-based products, Mineral Based Industry, Forest Based Industries, Agro Based & Food Processing Industries, Hand Made Paper & Fiber Industry, Textiles Industry and many more.

Also Read: 6 Big Ways Social Media Has Impacted the PR Process